Menu

I just learned that most schools have nurses.

KungFuPanda

Don’t laugh! How did I miss this? I never had a school nurse in rural WV. I assumed it as a city thing. My daughter informs me that she never heard of a school without a nurse. This came up because my graceful child sliced her finger on an exacto knife while setting up her classroom. It looked like a crime scene. She’s their first workman’s comp incident this year. School is virtual until at least January, but teachers can work some days from their rooms. It’s a good thing the nurse was working on-site today!

ETA: I have an elementary ed degree. 🤣

Edited by KungFuPanda
  • Like 1
  • Haha 5

I still remember the name of my elementary school nurse 40 years later: Mrs. McCloskey.  She was available all day, every day for any kid that felt sick, needed medication administered, etc. She also taught some classes on nutrition, safety, dental hygiene, and health. And she had Slim Goodbody to come to our school, too! :D 

Incidentally, school nurses are in short supply.  It was an issue before the pandemic.   https://www.cbsnews.com/news/nurse-shortages-at-schools-could-be-putting-your-child-at-risk/

• Like 2

DS15 attended a K-8 public school so there was a school nurse onsite. The two K-5th elementary schools shared a nurse. All three schools are within a mile of each other, and a fire station with paramedics is about equidistant from all three. All schools have a room designated as “sick bay”/nurse station where medications and epipens are kept. 

DS15 used to puke at least once a year so the school nurse and school office staff knows me well.

Oh, I used to love to go to the nurse when I wasn't feeling well. She'd have me lie down on the comfy little bed and pull the curtain around me and I'd listen to her quietly work until my mom came to pick me up. ❤️

She also fixed up scraped knees with iodine and dealt with all kinds of playground injuries.