Menu

How long is the elementary school day where you live?

143 members have voted

1. 1. How long is the elementary school day where you live?

• Less than 6 hours
    • 6-6.5 hours
    • 6.5-7 hours
    • Longer than 7 hours

Just curious what's common: How long is the elementary school day where you live?

The public school district where I live is considering lengthening the school day for elementary students from 6.5 to 7 hours. Some parents are up in arms about this; they think the school day is long enough or too long already. Most of the counties around us already have a 7-hour school day for elementary, but that has increased over time. I think when I was an elementary student in this district, the school day was closer to 6 hours.

By sheer coincidence, I read an article today in the Washington Post about a "no-excuses" school in which students as young as kindergarten spend NINE hours each day! :svengo: Can't imagine what would happen if they tried something like THAT here!

The two public school systems are 7h30min and 8h, K-5th.  The lovely private school is 4-5h through 2nd grade, 6.5h through the end of elementary.

The public schools are why I advocate for a homework-less environment.  Children don't need a 40h work week and a requirement of overtime on top of that.  The general public would be up in arms if they were told they had to spend an extra 10 hours a week working from home on top of their office job.

• Like 5

7 hour days in public school. One charter school in the area has an 8 hour day (!!) but they are tri-lingual with daily PE so they need the extra time. And a friend who's kids used to attend cited the 1-2 hours of nightly homework as the main reason. Can't imagine an 8-hour school day, 1 hour + travel time (adjust for differing start starts for differing grades) AND looking forward to hours of homework!  Nope, took my kids off that wait list.

Growing up elementary was only 6 hours with more recess.  

Edited by J&JMom