Menu

My counselor says I need a hobby.

caitlinsmom

I am on the verge of a total collapse.  In desperation I went to see our counselor today.  After I share just a small blip of all that goes on in my head/life, he leans back and says  "This will sound simple but it's going to be the best place to start.  You need to get out, focus on you and find a hobby."  Arg.  Obviously there was more to it but he came back to that point multiple times throughout our session.

So hive, what hobby should I take up?

Take the following into account:

-I don't like knitting.

-I like sewing but hate dragging it all out in our (very) small space.

-I started drawing this week but so did everyone else in the house.  It doesn't feel like "mine".

-I read a lot but that doesn't count.

-I am a horrible crocheter, I don't find joy in scrapbooking, and working out is not a hobby in my mind but torture. :) 

-I am very frugal and will feel guilt and stress if my hobby costs too much money. I NEED to avoid stress as much as possible.

-I live in an area with 4 seasons but winter is harsh with negative temps much of the time.  Not a pleasant hiking/outdoorsy environment (at least to me).

-I also live in a rural area with little "culture" available.  Museums, symphonies, ballets etc do not exist around here.  I am at least 3 hours from the closest opportunities of that sort.

I'm all ears..... :)

Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Could you take a class? I enjoy a lot of things in groups that I wouldn't do on my own.

Introvert who likes to do things at my own pace.  Classes are good but I find myself bored because they move to slowly for me.  Plus I have pretty severe anxiety right now so being with people (in groups) contributes to the issues I am dealing with.