Menu

My niece lost her week old preemie, is this appropriate?

emcap

My niece lost her 24 week old preemie yesterday, he was one week old. We are not close, mainly just because we've always lived far away. I want her to feel loved and cared for and remembered but I'm not good at this social stuff. Would it be appropriate to send her this? https://www.amazon.com/Calls-Little-Children-Angel-Figurine/dp/B000MY0P7M

I do not want to add to her sorrow right now, but I imagine there's no escaping it anyway. I received this after a miscarriage and it is very beautiful.

We cannot make the services due to living far away. Would just a card be better?

Thanks for your help

No, I do not think this is appropriate - unless you know with absolute certainty that she shares this view.

Telling a bereaved parent "God was tired of calling old folks into heaven, so he called a young child to make heaven more beautiful" (which is what the included poem says) is not appropriate or comforting.

Edited by regentrude
  • Like 36

It all depends. Sometimes saying "Heaven has another angel" can be hurtful. If you don't know the person well, I would avoid it.  Let their statements be a guide to you.

This might be better:  "Heaven rejoices. Earth weeps."

Some practical suggestions from afar:  gift cards for restaurants so they don't have to cook; pay for a cleaning service.

Write down the date of the loss and on certain intervals -- 3 months, 6 months, 1 year--send an email, call or card letting her know you are praying for her.  Lots of times months after a loss it is incredibly lonely. People stop asking and there is still a lot of hurt.