Menu

I'm interested to hear the Hive's thoughts on...

fraidycat

I rather like the idea of a line through an error and then moving on because I like the idea of it saying: Yep, there is a mistake. Let it go and move on. No need to pretend it didn't happen but let's not dwell, either.   

This is what I dis when I was a classroom teacher. 

Some kids got so hung up on erasing the mistake so that it looks like it wasn't there or so annoyed that they aren't perfect that they never move along.

But, I also like the idea that 'finished' or 'published' work is presented in a neat, tidy final copy. I think there is a place for both schools of thought.

• Like 6

Let's see, I remember using pencil mostly up until high school. In high school we did a lot of in class work in pencil but papers were expected to be done in pen. Yeah, the olden days when no one had a home computer and hardly anyone owned their own typewriter.

It wasn't until 12th grade that our English teacher said all tests in her class were to be done in pen. She had specific rules. Erasable ink pens weren't allowed; the ink was messy and sticky. Errors were allowed to be lined through neatly; rabid crossings out got points deducted. And for tests we were allowed to write notes or a simple outline in the margins to help us organize our thoughts. Not being allowed to use pencil was probably the most helpful way of forcing us to think before we started writing.

Math and science were still done in pencil though, even in college.

I don't know about banning erasers in the classroom, though. I mean, people do make minor mistakes that are easily erased and corrected rather than rewritten in the next available space. But with my own dc, I prefer big mistakes just be crossed out with a big X or simply lined through and then the correction done next to it. I just think it's tidier; too much erasing usually leaves the page in a mess.

• Like 4