Menu

Prayer request for my son please! Update #28, #39

RoughCollie

I am asking for prayers, good thoughts, whatever you have, for my son Stephen.

He is having surgery tomorrow morning -- it is reconstruction surgery by a plastic surgeon because the both sites of the original surgery (last year) have become infected.  He is having a skin graft done, too.

He will likely spend at least one night in the hospital.  Full recovery takes 6 weeks.

I am going to do my best to get a visiting nurse to come to our house every day for the first couple of weeks.  I am not a medical professional and I want to be absolutely certain that his wound is healing properly.

Back in the 80's, Stephen would have been in the hospital for at least a week after this surgery. Now they send them home the same day or the next day, depending whatever they want it to depend on, I guess.

Basically, IMO, they are foisting the professional nursing care off on the family.  Having a visiting nurse will set my mind at ease since I am not a nurse.  Last year, we didn't have a visiting nurse and I sure wanted one, really anyone who didn't have to look up how to change dressings on the internet and who can recognize a problem before any idiot (me) would!

Thank you for your prayers and good thoughts!

RC

Thank you all for your prayers, hugs, and healing thoughts on behalf of my dear Stephen. 

He is out of surgery now, and has been admitted, thank heavens.  He did not have to have a skin graft, which is great because the nurses told me that grafts are much more painful than the surgery itself.

Stephen is in some pain, but refused extra meds because he is so nauseated.  He is not very happy, so I sent two of my kids home for the afternoon.  One of my sons is going to spend the night here so I won't have to.