Menu

Women and Higher Education

First off, I don't want this to get all snarky, so if you can't respond politely, please start your own thread. Everyone has a right to express their opinion without hostility being heaped upon their heads by those who disagree.

With all the threads about college tuition and various higher education options, I would love to have a thoughtful dialog about how you all feel about females and college educations.

I got my master's degree and had small but ongoing student loan payments until I was 35yo! I did work in my chosen career field for about 15 years and then had a child and became a sahm. While I value my education and feel that it made a very valuable contribution to my life, I am questioning whether I would encourage my dd to expend significant effort to obtain a similar education, particularly if she felt strongly that she wanted to work for only a few years and then have children and stay home with them.

We would not be able to afford much at all toward her educational expenses, but God has blessed dh with a job at a university, so dd would be able to go for free. I have to this point communicated to her the assumption that she should get a degree unless there were some compelling reason not to do so (had to miss finals to accept a Grammy award or Nobel Prize, etc.).

What do you all think? Is it reasonable for a young woman who knows she wants first and foremost to be a sahm to decline to seek post secondary education or to obtain it from a cheaper or less prestigious institution?

Well, as far as secondary education goes, I'll quote what my grandfather told my sisters and I: "Yea, you might think you'll get married and your husband will take care of you, but there's always the two Ds, death and divorce. You need to be prepared to take care of yourself and go to college."