Menu

8 year old out of control kid maced-- Mom mad.. has this been posted??

Is it bad that my first thought was that the Cinci convention could have benefitted from some judiciously applied pepper spray? Never mind, I'm pretty sure it is.

I can't give my true thoughts just yet, b/c everyone is sleeping and I dont' have my earphones.

I usually hesitate upon offering an opinion, but this case bothers me for some reason. I really think there is some ulterior motive for the family speaking about it now when it happened so long ago - as though someone suggested to them that they could sue and a lawyer may take the case on contingency. I am by no means an expert on psychology or body language, but you could tell the difference between what the boy was coached to say and what he actually felt.

As to whether or not it was justified, I cannot say because I was not there. It sounds extreme, but I have seen kids rage before and it is nothing nice, it is absolutely scary. They could try and talk to him, and should, but can we expect an 8-year-old to be totally rational? Does he even understand his emotions well enough to know why he feels the way he does?

Here is the article from the Denver Post that gave just slightly more significant info:

Colorado police pepper-spray misbehaving boy, 8By SHEILA V KUMAR Associated Press

Posted: 04/06/2011 05:19:16 AM MDT

Updated: 04/06/2011 06:46:50 PM MDT

DENVER—Eight-year-old Aidan Elliott had thrown a TV and chairs at his Colorado elementary school and was trying to use a cart to bust through a door to an office where teachers and other students fled for safety.

No one could calm the boy, not even the staff in a program for children with behavior problems like him. So they called police, who had intervened with Aidan twice before.

Police found him with a foot-long piece of wood trim with a knife-like point in one hand and a cardboard box in the other.

"Come get me, f-----," he said.