Menu

How many of you have a passion area outside of family and homeschooling?

• Replies 139
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have two things.

Weaving - learned how to weave about 18 months ago and I love, love, love it.

End-of-life care... I'm currently a hospice volunteer and go visit patients once a week. I really wish I could do it more. Even though I'm no longer homeschooling I can't believe how quickly my week fills up, so once a week is about all I can do right now.

Rescuing animals, hiking, gardening.

I'm also a want to be artist. This year I'm taking time for myself to do for ME. I'm trying to find someone who can teach me to make dichroic glass.

I'm gifted musically and hope to take time to use my gifts one day.

Saving/rescuing/helping animals, even the human kind, biggest compassion.... By far.

Photography. It's perfect for me, because I can make a record of our family life while doing something creative that I enjoy.

:iagree:

It can get a bit expensive though. :tongue_smilie:

I'm thinking this may be the year I upgrade my camera body (Nikon d40) - and let's not even talk about what my amazon wishlist looks like right now. ;)

Latin American history- particularly Brazilian history. It's what I study in school, and what I'll (hopefully) be going to graduate school for.

Also foreign languages. I study French and Spanish, starting Portuguese soon, and hope to eventually learn Arabic.

And reading. I read probably... 5-7 books a week. Almost a book a day.

Knowledge in general is my "passion" I guess. :tongue_smilie:I love to learn new things.

Foraging, natural medicine, gardening, crocheting and spinning, and theology. I still love our horses and teaching the kids to ride/show/train, but that is taking a bit of a back burner.

Right now I am focusing on preserving the foods I forage/grow/raise and crocheting piecework.