Menu

Is it against the law to sit in your car while pumping gas, or simply a suggestion?

My best educated (I worked in the oil transport business years ago) guess:

not illegal to leave the pump un-watched but if it overflowed and spilled, you could be held accountable even criminally depending on what happened.

Unless you are filling up and have a big tank, I don't think it is worthwhile to jump back into the car. Since you have to turn off the engine, there is no heat or cool air except whatever lingers from when you pull up.

But I've never heard it was against the law to sit in the car.

It isn't recommended because of the possibility of static electricity causing a spark to ignite the gasoline when you get out of the car.

:iagree:

Mythbusters confirmed this myth. Your clothing sliding on the fabric can build up static which can then ignite the fumes when you grab the nozzle to remove it, unless you properly ground yourself to ensure the charge is discharged first. The explosions are most commonly caused by women who are more likely to jump back into the car.

Personally, after seeing that episode and the kind of explosions that can happen (they showed gas station camera footage), I'd rather stay out of the car.

How's that even work unless it's a full serve?:001_huh:
There is a little tab on the nozzle that you can flip up to keep the nozzle handle pressed "on".

Ahhh. I didn't know that...

I once commented to a friend that our old van was "really good on gas"... and dh, overhearing, started laughing. For a long time.

You might be able to guess why. :tongue_smilie:

The problem is static electricity build up and you can catch on fire....have you ever been "shocked" by your car getting in/out? That spark could potentially start a fire.

Yes, I understand the possibility of a spark causing an explosion, but I'm still wondering if anyone has heard of it be illegal to get back in the car while the gas is pumping.