Menu

I hate stuff!!

Mimm

My two oldest just left for camp this morning and I have seven days to clean their room. It's been trashed for over a year. Clearly I'm not good at just making them do it. But it's really mostly the fault of my 14 year old and we have a high conflict relationship anyway, so a messy room takes a back seat to other things. Anyway, so now I'm going to do it while she's not around. I'm planning to remove the mountains of clothes she has on the floor and give them back... how? Make her earn them? Give her one garment a day? Only on days when the room stays clean? Go in once a week and pick up everything off the floor and take it out of the room? I don't know, I welcome input from people who have had to take drastic measures to keep a kid's room clean.

And no, I'm not willing to keep shutting the door and pretending it doesn't exist. I've done that entire too much as it is. She and my 12 year old share a rather small room and it's not fair to my 12 year old that probably 80% of the mess is her sister's. And how do you even go about finding your 20% when the other person's mess is in the way? So enough is enough. It's a small room but it's a perfectly workable space, one that I'm willing to do what it takes to make sure it can be organized and nice. It's due a paint job. Overdue, actually, but we've been waiting on it to be cleaned before we can paint it!

But how do I decide what to throw away? Old art projects, lump pots from a pottery class a couple years ago, sea shells they picked up on a beach in TX four years ago, pokemon cards they haven't played with in like five or six years, posters a friend just gave them last week but no wall space to hang them, a violin no one has any interest in playing... And on and on and on. If I had my way, I'd throw it all out. But will this traumatize them? It's pretty invasive. Should I save a tub of stuff for them to go through?

ETA: UPDATE in post 45.

• Like 1