Menu

Why are public and private school kids so much further ahead in their writing skills

Mommyfaithe

Than my kids....and how can I get mine up to snuff??? y kids will probably be in public or private school for the first time next year. I have been homeschooling for nearly 20 years and really did not worry about it because my older ones were writing well above level by high school.

I have no idea how to teach a 4 th grader how to write a 5 paragraph essay using 3 points from their reading assignment! A 9th grader....well, that is different!

How do I teach them introduction, 3 body paragraphs and conclusion?? What should it include and what type of sentences are appropriate?? I am kind of surprised that this is what is expected of kids and that they are doing it!! My kids act like copying a sentence or 2 is torture of the worst kind!

Is there a book or a program I can use to align them with the standards they will be expected to be able to perform when they start school in the fall??? I really have no time to waste as they will be tested for grade level in the spring.

Thanks!

Faithe

Honestly, they aren't. What they're doing sounds advanced, but if you google sample rubrics, you can see that it's not terribly good quality writing. Having taught college students in writing intensive general ed distribution requirements, I'd rather have the kids who can write whatever they CAN write well (good, solid sentences, good paragraphs, short essays, and so on) than who can write extremely long bad papers. The kids with the solid skills who have never written a paper can learn, with a good style manual and some time reading and maybe a little 1-1 instruction. The kids who have been writing badly for years continue to write badly, and often don't even realize that they don't know how.