Menu

Doubt:Please Tell Me Why You Are Glad You Homeschool

I was homeschooled from 3rd to 12th grade and always wanted to homeschool my own children. I've been homeschooling for 6 years now and my oldest is 11.  She has started having preteen moodiness and is sometimes very difficult so homeschooling isn't easy.  And now my dear friend who started this homeschooling journey with me is putting her 11 year old in school this fall.  Then last night my dd11 told me she doesn't like school because it is hard, but that her school friends say they like going to school. She is also feeling left out on preteen culture (I didn't know what Flossing was Mom!). I am just feeling so discouraged.... I need some positive homeschool energy! What do you love about homeschooling? Why are you glad you so it?

I love being in charge of my kids' education, building them up in their strengths, avoiding middle school drama, getting their work done during the day and not dealing with homework after school, flexibility with our schedule, less germ exposure (important for my autoimmune/PANS kid), LESS exposure to pre-teen culture/teen culture, surrounding ourselves with like-minded families who don't give their young teens phones or let them spend hours on a screen, a more wholesome environment, avoiding the pressure to become boy-crazy at 12yo...  And btw my kids do have exposure to kids in school through some activities (taekwondo, our local health club programs, church youth group). They are not in a bubble, but the difference is clear.  I am SO thankful we homeschool. 

• Like 7

I would love to, but my reasons are not yours. ?