Menu

Crochet or knitting?

Night Elf

Which is easier to learn? I found a meetup group in my area that meets once a week at a restaurant for 2 hours in the late evening. They said all skill levels are welcome so I asked if they take total beginners and would someone be willing to teach me. The leader has been knitting for 5 years and crocheting for 2 years. I learned the basics of crocheting about 40 years ago and do not remember anything. I haven't sewn anything since then. Which is easier to start with?

• Like 1

I think they're both easy enough to learn.  I crochet, (though it's been a while and my gauge is always off.).

what do you want to be able to make is the bigger question of which you would appreciate more.

edgings are best crocheted - though you can do sweaters,  etc.

knitting is softer for sweaters

both can do afghans.

• Like 2

I think they're both easy enough to learn.  I crochet, (though it's been a while and my gauge is always off.).

what do you want to be able to make is the bigger question of which you would appreciate more.

edgings are best crocheted - though you can do sweaters,  etc.

knitting is softer for sweaters

both can do afghans.

I haven't thought that far ahead. I guess what I'd start with are scarves and afghans, both things we could actually use. Really, I'm just looking for some social time with other adults and this is something that interests me.

They are easy in different ways.  And they let you do slightly different things.

In knitting, the next stitch you need to do something to (knit, purl, slip to the other needle) is pretty obvious -- it's typically the next one on the needle (left needle if you're knitting in a typical right handed way). Once you get the simple stuff down you can do it without looking because your hands can feel the next stitch and do the correct motions.  But, something about messing with those two straight sticks PLUS keeping track of the yarn can get crazy for some people.