Menu

Discovering homeschooling

Night Elf

I've been homeschooling for 13 years now. I was remembering our early days. I first heard about homeschooling from a family at a local hardware store. I saw them there during the school day and asked if they were out of school for the day. The mom was really nice with me and said she homeschooled. I was floored. I'm sure my mouth must have dropped open. I asked her more questions and she told me about Calvert School. So I went home and started researching. DH wasn't on board at first. I researched it and started reading the WTM boards, and did that for a couple of months before I convinced DH to let me take ds out of school. And 2 months after we started homeschooling, DH thanked me for researching it and doing it because it made a tremendous difference in ds's life. I'm so glad I ran into that woman.

I've had the pleasure of talking to one person about homeschooling. She had 7 kids and hated them being in public school. At the time, I was using Sonlight, so I showed her the catalog. We talked about homeschooling in general and Sonlight in particular. I felt a little odd about being involved when she took her kids out of school. I worried that she would blame me if something went wrong. Unfortunately, we didn't really hang out in the same circle so I lost touch with her. I've always wondered if homeschooling was successful for her.

Just rambling right now. :)

You know, I can't remember my official introduction to homeschooling!
I remember when Colombine happened and my oldest was a baby. I said out loud "This kid is going to be homeschooled," but I didn't mean it and I didn't really have any concept of it.

I don't remember what exactly inspired me toward that direction when he was in 1st or 2nd grade, either, but something did.  And it wasn't until 4th grade was over that we even started.

Somehow, I just seemed to fall into it!