Menu

Money smart people-help me think this through

teachermom2834

Background- I’ve been a full time SAHM for 25 years. We have one child left at home and she is in 10th grade. I’m 49. So I have to find something to do with myself in the next couple years. For the time being I still want to be available to dd for after school running and evening activities and homework support etc. She still seems to really need me. Just not until 3:30 everyday. 

I have a college degree but it is obsolete. I’m not really career driven and don’t have anything I really want to do. But it isn’t good for me to just sit around. So, all that said, I am putting in applications for some grocery stores and the like that are advertising early morning shifts. I will want to do something else someday when my dd graduates but for now I am just trying to get out of the house and into the workforce and get used to being on a schedule and having someone else tell me what to do. This is just the thing to get me rolling after 25 years. Eek. 

I feel like this is the right next step for me while I plan my next move. But I am having a hard time making peace with the idea that my approximately $13/hr is going to be taxed at my dh’s tax rate. I’m making little enough as it is. It isn’t going to make a difference in my family’s life. I’m doing it for all kinds of other reasons that make sense to me. But I’m really getting stuck on the fact that such a big chunk is going to go to taxes there will really be hardly anything take home. It wouldn’t make any sense for us to file separately.