Menu

where do all the pencils go?

school17777

I have been homeschooling for 13 years now and this has been a continuous problem all that time, probably before too.  All the pencils (and pens when needed) disappear!  I don't know where they go.  They can be on the table a minute ago, and then they are gone when needed a minute later.

I started out this school year with around 35 golf size pencils.  None can be found now.  And the thing is, they don't ever seem to be found.  Once they are gone, they are gone. We don't even have to leave the desk for the pencils to disappear, they disappear in the middle of a lesson.

I filled up the container on the pencil sharpner with brand new sharpened pencils in Sept.  All gone.  

All that's left on the desk right now are colored pencils that don't work (the plastic kind you twisted) and almost dried up markers.

My bookmark sticky things are gone too. I had tons left in the container too.  Now all the ones I use have lost there stickiness, but I can't replace them with a new fresh one.

I have plenty of fancy cutting scissors in the caddy on the desk.  However, there is only one pair of regular scissors.  I bought two dozen years ago, so there should be plenty, but there is just one pair left.  

My Cat Steals Them.

He has been caught hooking them out of the pencil jar with his paw and tossing them on the floor to be eaten by the closest dog. Or batting them around the floor like hockey pucks until he manages to wedge them under the fridge.

I assume someday we will have to replace the fridge and will find a small forest-worth of perfectly good pencils underneath.

72fb384b475aa0cc415b1ea98b201332.jpg

Where have alll the pencils gone

Long time passing?

Where have alll the pencils gone

Long time ago .....