Menu

New to homeschooling and facing criticism :(

My oldest son is just finishing up his 3rd grade year in public school. He is very bright and motivated. I have always wanted to instruct him at home, but until now, circumstances would not allow. I'm unhappy with many of the things he is learning from teachers and peers. I am a single mom with another son who is 4. I am a student as well- majoring in Elementary Education. I work part time for my family and I am able to keep flexible hours to take care of my boys. I've made the announcement to everyone that I intend to school my oldest boy at home next year and I'd say half of the people I've told (mostly family) have been very supportive and excited for us :)

But..... As you all know- there are negative and intrusive comments as well. How can I go about letting them know that the decision has been made for our family, and I don't want their opinions that they claim are based on "research?" I should note that these individuls also hold degrees in education and work in the ps system. I don't want to be rude, but I also want to nip the unsolicited advice in the bud. Thanks in advance for any advice :) We are so excited to start our learning adventure!

As you all know- there are negative and intrusive comments as well. How can I go about letting them know that the decision has been made for our family, and I don't want their opinions that they claim are based on "research?" I should note that these individuls also hold degrees in education and work in the ps system. I don't want to be rude, but I also want to nip the unsolicited advice in the bud. Thanks in advance for any advice :) We are so excited to start our learning adventure!

Be rude if need be. He is your child and if you want to hs him so be it.

It's a bit tough to learn but after a few years of homeschooling you'll realize two things.

1) Their opinions don't matter.