Menu

How many miles does your car have?

I have a Subaru Forester that is 8 years old and has 90,000 miles. I am just beginning to see strange lights come on that I am sure in the near future are going to cost me money.

I am thinking of waiting till January 2010 and buying a 2009 Subaru Forester. I always buy last years model in whatever color to save money.

On the one hand I want a car with significantly lower mileage (we drive a lot) and newer airbags, safety features, etc.

On the other hand I think the car is in fairly good shape and maybe it will reach 150,000 or more miles before I get rid of it.

I have never had a car with this many miles on it so this is all new to me.

Any thoughts?

We have a lifetime of experience with Hondas and Toyotas, but I can't speak to Subaru. My 9 year old Honda Odyssey van has 250,000 miles on it, and I expect to drive it another year. My dd just sold her 13 year old Toyota Camry (cheap) with 250,000 miles on it and bought a 7 year old Honda Accord with 210,000. We also bought a 10 year old Honda Civic for my other dd with 200,000 miles on it.

These are cars that will run for many miles with no major repairs. I think of a used Honda with under 100,000 miles on it as being a fairly low mileage car.

Beth

1984 Volvo 240 GL around 275,000 and still going strong with no issues. :D

Before that, I had a 72 Mercedes with over 500,000 miles. Don't know how many exactly because the speedometer quit working and then the transmission finally died.

We have a 94 Nissan Quest van with over 230,000 miles. We spent some money on replacing the radiator and getting the system flushed because the previous owner never did that. It kept overheating and we couldn't use the A/C. Very bad in the summer in Arizona! But now that we got that problem fixed, it runs great. We bought it last year for a few hundred dollars from the RV dealership where dh works. Dh said he never would have even considered it but since it was a Nissan, he bought it.