Menu

Is giving grades wrong to elementary kids?

My background is a 5th and 6th grade teacher. I gave grades and graded tough.

I had a conversation today with a homeschooling mom. I said that DS made a 86 on a math test this morning. Her reaction was you give grades? I do this for many reasons .My plan maybe to put him back in public school at some point. We may want to send him to private school in middle school or high school. I also have an ex-husband and his family that at some point may cause trouble over home schooling. I agreed with DH to cross my T and dot my I’s when I told this one. Does anyone else grade their elementary grade students?

Jenn

I don't. There are times that may tell them that this is the grade % if I were to calculate it. Typically, though, I would just review work that needed reviewing and have them correct what they missed, and leave it at that.

I have put my two older kids back in school and I didn't have to show any previous grades to enroll them, or choose which classes to put them in. Both of them have been enrolled in honors classes and I didn't need a report card of grades to do it.

I graded tests last year in 5th grade, but nothing else. And I didn't do a report card, or average them or anything. It was just for practice, and so we were all on the same page. i also have an ex husband, so I know what you mean. I figured having a few things in the portfolio that were graded was good, but I didn't need to go overboard. Daily work was never graded. It was just redone until it was right :)

I don't grade my elementary kids, but I don't think it is wrong to grade kids this age. We work through problems that they have in math and spelling, so there is no need for a grade in our house. There is no gradable work in other subjects at our house. That said, I know plenty of people who grade work and hand it back for their kids to redo. Their kids see it as normal, no problem.