Menu

Can anyone suggest resources for starting life over at age 45+?

pitterpatter

Please don't quote, as I will probably delete this. Life has taken a turn over the past 5-6 years that I could have never predicted. My happy, secure life is gone.  And, it's becoming quite apparent that it's not coming back. My daughter, who is an only child, will leave for college in three years. After that, I will be pretty much alone for the first time since I was in college. (Little family I can count on, no real friends.) I need help figuring out a path for starting over at this age. While I have a college degree, I haven't worked out of the home for roughly 18 years. I think DD will be going to my alma mater, and I might move back there until she graduates, if she wouldn't hate me for it. Lol. The town has quite a bit to offer that I think I would find enriching without it being overwhelming. And, I could maybe work for the university again and get a discount on DD's education. I don't know. I ultimately don't want a job that's going to tie me down for the rest of my life.