Menu

Went to a home school graduation last night and now I want to weep

and not in a good way.

It was one child graduating. He seemed directionless. When asked what his future plans were, he mentioned the desire to be in a rock band. When asked what he might do if that didn't work out, he thought he might be a professional skateboarder.

The graduation was a casual affair, which is fine. However, his mother showed up in sloppy clothes and dirty hair. I know it was casual, but since when is showering optional?

Are these my kids' peers? Most of their peers are going to community college and plan to transfer to a four year school. I think community college is a common choice because of finances.

I graduated from a private high school where 100% of the class went to a four year college. In the last school newspaper of the school year, they printed the list of the graduates and the college they were planning on attending. In high school I was surrounded by people with goals and high aspirations.

On these forums, I saw someone quote a book that said parents of kids that were successful in school purposely surrounded themselves by other like-minded families. I completely agree with this philosophy. However, I've found this hard to find within the home schooling community. Last night was especially depressing.

While most graduations I've attended were not like this one, the kids still don't seem to be highly motivated. It usually, "I think I'll go to the junior college and figure out what I want to do." This is so foreign to the way I grew up.

Last night honestly makes me want to enroll my kid in a competitive private school so she can be surrounded by more motivated kids and a little more class.

Am I being a snob? Do I just need to keep holding my kids to a high standard and ignore this? Help, please!