Menu

Update: Bombas vs Smartwool vs Kirkland socks

Ali in OR

I love my Bombas calf-height socks that I wear most days between October and May (navy, black, tan, gray). But they get holes on the top of my big toe in maybe 2 years time. The Costco Kirkland ones seem to last a bit longer but I heard here that last year's version were not as high quality (I didn't get any last year) and the colors/patterns aren't always a great match for work outfits. How about Smartwool? Never had any--how long do they last?

Bombas are typically 20% off over the holidays and I either need to get more or find a good replacement. What are your favorite socks like this?

Update: I did place an order to try some Darn Tough Socks (they're not here yet and they aren't a Christmas present--I'll use them immediately). Then today I got an email that Bombas are 25% off until midnight. I placed the Christmas order (the cat gives everyone socks for Christmas--very generous of him). The cat got me the usual 4-pack: calf-height merino wool in black, navy, gray, tan. I'll wrap them for him and put them under the tree.

Edited by Ali in OR
  • Like 3

I can’t really speak to Bombas or Kirkland since I’ve never tried them. I have several styles of Smartwool, I like my hiking styles. I dislike my trouser and no show styles, they slip around my foot. 

Since you specifically have difficulty with holes, I would suggest Darn Tough, they have a lifetime guarantee and will be replaced if you get holes. I have one pair that is 5 years old and just now showing wear. 

• Like 6

4 minutes ago, Rachel said:

Since you specifically have difficulty with holes, I would suggest Darn Tough, they have a lifetime guarantee and will be replaced if you get holes. I have one pair that is 5 years old and just now showing wear. 

I also recommend Darn Tough.

• Like 1

I love Bombas, although I too get those big-toe-holes after a couple of years.