Menu

Should I do jury duty?

Elisabet1

I got a jury duty notice...which I always thought it would be neat! I have never done jury duty before!

But, I am called for February. I am due in March. I qualify for en exemption. It says if you are full-time caretaker of a child under 12 yrs old. I am. (you can also check that you are not morally sound, LOL...but nah!)

As it stands, I potty every hour, and sneeze and cough. And my toosh hurts still. 

Should I just check exempt and send the form back in?

I'll be the lone dissenter. At our courthouse, they're fine letting jurors take breaks as needed to use the restroom or stretch. When I was pregnant and had little kids at home, I was called for jury duty and went. It was a vacation for me. I got to sit and do nothing but read my book most of the morning, they brought us a delicious lunch, and then when the trial started, it was interesting and took less than two days.  I went home refreshed. Yeah, I was sore, but I was sore at home, too. 

I had someone willing to watch my kids for me, so that helped. But yeah, it was easier than a day at home. 

But yeah, you definitely have a valid excuse if you don't want to do it. 

I'd probably show up, because I'd like the experience. I am on the teacher's list with our county, because my Co-op boss wrote a letter a few years ago when they wanted me to serve in the middle of a semester. They will only send notices for me during Summer Break. The only week I ever had to actually report to the courthouse, about 75% of the other potential jurors I talked with were teachers. 

They will probably notice your condition, appreciate your willingness to serve, and excuse you.