Menu

Memorable quote from a movie?

Dh and I were talking last night about people's response about homeschooling, "Oh, I can't homeschool. I don't have the patience."

I reminded him of watching the movie Evan Almighty. What Morgan Freeman (God) said was so profound (to me).

God: "Let me ask you something. If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other?"

I cried, when I heard that.

God gives me plenty of opportunities to be patient. I'm still learning. :001_smile:

**Do you have a memorable quote, from a movie, you want to share?

Wow -- I love that.

I have a ton of favorite quotes, they're not not quite as profound as yours (i.e. "you take delight in vexing me"; "you have no compassion for my poor nerves"; "she's tolerable, I suppose, but not handsome enough to tempt me"....etc.) :D

I'm better at remembering quotes when the moment serves to bring them to mind.

But, two I remember easily are:

John Wayne: "A man oughta do what he thinks is best" which doesn't come across well unless you know the context. He's giving a warning to a snotty, prideful curr of a man. What he's really saying is, "You're a fool, but you're free to be a fool if that's what you want. Consider yourself warned."

The other is stupid. But terribly funny to dh and I:

"The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire!" usually said with motions and all. It's from Mystery Men, which I would never suggest anyone subject themselves to. :tongue_smilie: I only watched it because dh loves it. And, well, this part is funny. And we use it often.