Menu

So who's a planner and who's not?

mafi39

This is my first year hs. While we have had a good year, I feel I sorely lacked in the planning department. I used to teach school and I was a planning queen, but you have to be with 20 kids!

I feel like this year, I kind of flew by the seat of my pants.

How many of you plan out your year? Do you plan a week at a time, two weeks, month? Do you use a planner? I saw someone mention binders, who uses them and how do you use them? I guess I feel I need to be a little more organized for next year. I have a 6 dd and 5yo ds and a 6 yo niece and they will all be doing 1st grade work for the most part!

Here's the subjects I have so far.

I am either going to us MFW 1st or HOD (can't decide, they both look great!)

MUS (not 100% sure yet, will check them out at curriculum fair)

AlphaPhonics (maybe Explode the Code or CLP)

Co-op classes once a week and weekly trips to the library

What else would you add?

Thanks!

I'm a planner, too. I had shied away from planning an entire year previously but this year I bit the bullet and did it and WOW things have gone so very much better! To allow for flexibility, I didn't plan out dates but rather days 1 to 180... so when things changed, all I had to do was re-work the pages that correlated days to actual dates... all the lesson plans stayed exactly the same.

I am what you might call a frustrated planner. I LOVE to plan - I list, I schedule, I research, I preview (you get the picture). However, my concrete-sequential tendencies to plan are at complete odds with my abstract random family's need to be spontaneous. Seriously, I thought it was just my inlaws, but it's an inherited trait and my kids got it. RANDOMness rules the house, and I am left frustrated, broken-hearted (broken-planned), and denied the satisfaction of checking off all my boxes... :nopity: