Menu

How to be more board savvy?

Ok, I have been wanting to ask this for about a year and now I'm really curious. How in the world do you just know that someone is telling the truth and someone is a troll? I've heard some people accused of being a troll in the past...they were not and I never believed they were. I've seen people banned because they were trolls and I kind of had the feeling they were (like the recent one). But I have to admit that in the past year I have had the feeling that there were others that were "trollish" for lack of a better word and yet everyone else obviously thinks not. Do trolls have to be new people? How do you know or suspect? If people know you in real life, does that count? I have been on the boards since 2005 (I think) and still haven't got this figured out. What makes one poster's wild and crazy stories legit and another's not?

Bottom line...I want to be more savvy. I have been pondering this for about two months now as I have watched a couple people's threads. All the other stuff that happened just made me want to ask. Thanks guys. I do try to skip over all the mumbo jumbo but sometimes you just get sucked in. :rolleyes:

I'm sort of good at spotting trolls. Not just here, but at other boards I've been on (pregnancy boards are notoriously adept at attracting trolls!)

1st clue -- low post count -- and the posts they do send contain a lot of melodrama (moving, losing a baby, having a baby, adopting a baby, getting a divorce, etc.)

2nd clue -- hard-to-believe stories -- 11,000 sf houses, famous boyfriends / husbands, pregnant with quadruplets, married to an astronaut, 17 children, 7 children + 5 more from my deceased relative, etc.