Menu

Just curious as to how small your house is in square feet...

Okay as a real estate professional I get asked all the time for my opinion on what house size for a XX sized family.

So here are my observations. It many countries outside of the US it is perfectly normal for a family including extended family to live in less than 400 sq ft. As americans we are used to bigger is better. This is not always the case.

I have learned that square footage does NOT necessarily equal to useful space. I would take a small well laid out floor plan over a large but poor floor plan anyday. I often tell cleints to "humor me" and look at a smaller home becuase it has a wonderful floor plan and also tell cleints to not get hung up on the squarefootage and instead look at the functionality.

By US standards, most people find that 400 sq feet per person in the house works for them. Again, these are US big is better rule of thumb. Does this mean that your family will live in the home better if you have 400 sq ft for each person....NO....just that there will be a lot more "stuff" and it will not seem so tight.

I am in the camp of less to clean and weeding through what you do not need. We sold our old house which had more square footage for a home with 300 less sqaure feet becuase the new house was laid out so that we would use every single room...instead of living in only two rooms of our old house. Now we use every inch with none wasted.

We have six of us living in the house fulltime...with the two older girls coming and going making it 8 when they are home...it does get a little tight with 8 and I tend to get a little more grouchy...

I find as long as the space is clean and organized then I can tolerate my space. DH and I work out of the house and each have our own office. His is outside (guest house...aka guest shack) and mine is the size of a large closet. We live in CA and the house is 2000sq ft and the shack is 275 sq ft