Menu

deleted - thanks for the input

EmilyGF

It's hard during a pandemic.  We've moved frequently and usually find new friends through church.

DH is an engineer, his closest friends both married veterinarians so I know what you mean about personality differences among different groups. 

You might make new friends at work, or maybe not. DH's company is working remotely so you'd have no luck there right now  If it wasn't a pandemic I'd say try sites like meetup.com and look for any obscure interest groups you might be interested in. Or check the Y for sport clubs.  But as is I think you'll have to wait it out.

• Like 2

Commiseration big time! I am extroverted and have tons of acquaintances and used to throw parties galore, but yearn for close friends.

I am a physicist and always got along with guys better than with women.
I never fit with the other moms in my homeschool group because we homeschooled for academic reasons and I had a regular job. Culture mismatch.
I did not make close friends at work; I have dinner-party friends among my (male) colleagues, but not soul friends.
I never made friends in choir - we were pleasant to one another, but not close.

I made a few friends through book club; they're English and humanities profs, and we hit it off great. I actually love to dissect books with them; I am the only scientist there, everybody else is a humanities person.
I also made some friends in my local women's circle, but if this year has taught me anything, it's that everybody waxes about "community" and "sisterhood" as long as it's easy and we can circle in the sun and sing kumbayah - when things get tough, people don't reach out, and it's a lonely lonely world.