Menu

Is this a sentence fragment??

Isabella

This is a sentence I wrote as part of a recent assignment of educational learning theories, theorists, etc. Below it is the tutor's comment.  I'm not a grammar expert, but I thought that it was a complete sentence.  She marked another sentence wrongly, so I wondered about this one, too.  

Behavioural Theory is the theory that learning results in a change of behaviour, and that this is a result of external stimuli (Woolfolk & Margetts, 2013, p. 220). 

[CL1]Fragmented sentence

Each sentence should have a clear clause and include a subject, a verb and a complete thought. Good point but read your work aloud to ensure that it makes sense. It is better to present the facts clearly than to make the wording complex and convoluted. 

Here is the one she marked wronglyĂ¢â‚¬Â¦.'an' a conjunction?  Not sure which grammar school she went to.  Obviously she read it quickly, and thought I'd started a sentence with 'and'.

An[CL1]  example of classroom use could be: attaching pleasure-inducing stimuli to learning that might generally elicit a negative response (Woolfolk & Margetts, 2013, p. 223).

[CL1]Conjunction: this is a conjunction - joining word. Use these to link sentences but not to begin sentences. eg. by, and, whereas, therefore, etc.

I'd appreciate your feedback! :-)

I think the tutor had been grading too many papers and was getting a little loopy.  I do think the 'this' is a little vague and it might be a bit clearer if you said and that 'this change' is a result of external stimuli.  

Edited because I didn't read your post correctly! :-)

Edited by Isabella

I am not a grammar expert by any measure, but I don't think an is a conjunction. I learned it is an indefinite article. Unless she thought you began the sentence with And?

I would have probably started the sentence with "One example...." just because it flows better when I say it out loud.