Menu

Do your young children eat on placemats?

carriede

If your whole family does not eat on placemats...

Do you have your young children eat on placemats? Currently, DS5 and DD2 eat off a plate (or bowl) that is sitting on a plastic placemat. So after a meal, I have to wipe down the placemat and the table. Every time. DH thinks it helps protect the table and keep it clean. I'm not so sure.

So what do y'all do?

DH and I have been using my parents' old dining table for 15 years.  My brother and I ate off of it as kids prior to our using it, along with most of the kids in our neighborhood and did not use placemats.   My own kids have used it their entire lives with no placemats.  My extended family and friends with kids have all used it with no placemats.  No stains, easy to clean because it is solid wood with a really good formica top.  The only damage it ever received was just recently when we accidentally put a burning candle in a glass container on top of it during a blackout which caused the wood to crack from the extreme heat.  If you have a really sturdy table with a really rugged top you do not need placemats, IMHO, for normal meals, especially if you clean it off after each meal.

Best wishes.... :)

Added:  However, upon occasion we use placemats anyway for educational purposes because there are some GREAT educational placemats out there... :)

Always!

But, not because I care about the table:) there are just so many cool placemats that teach a multitude of information effortlessly, lol.

Alex has learned presidents, the Preamble to the Constitution, measurements, and a host of other mostly random info from them so I don't mind the extra effort of wiping them down:)

Always!

But, not because I care about the table:) there are just so many cool placemats that teach a multitude of information effortlessly, lol.