Menu

If you could go back to do 1st grade...

I would RELAX......... and let the kids be kids. I would worry less about them "doing" school and spend more time reading to the kids and going on nature walks.

I would be more Charlotte Mason and less TWTM/LCC/Hewitt/anal.

I wouldn't worry about "keeping up with the __________ Homeschooling Family".

I would hug and love my kids more and stress less.

newbie here, so no rec's on what to get....but I can say that I would have NOT purchased so much. I erred on the side of overkill, and regret it. ;)

:iagree:Over-purchasing makes me feel like I need to use it all, which makes me feel crazy because I can't use it all.

I would do Phonics Road and Math Mammoth and read a lot of books and do a lot of art.

Hey...wait, I do get to do 1st grade over (with my second) and that's what we're doing and I love it.

I agree with the PP--I am so much more RELAXED this time around. Enough that I stress about being TOO relaxed! :lol:

I would do Phonics Road and Math Mammoth and read a lot of books and do a lot of art.

Hey...wait, I do get to do 1st grade over (with my second) and that's what we're doing and I love it.

I agree with the PP--I am so much more RELAXED this time around. Enough that I stress about being TOO relaxed! :lol:

:iagree:

That is my plan for my 1st grader this fall...except I think we'll use McRuffy for math!

I would RELAX......... and let the kids be kids. I would worry less about them "doing" school and spend more time reading to the kids and going on nature walks.

I would be more Charlotte Mason . . .

What I didn't realize then, but can see now in retrospect, is that they really do learn to read . . . and write . . . and spell, each in his /her own way and we have plenty of time to do all of the things that really need to be done if we just keep working on it year by year.