Menu

Anyone ditch the filing folders already?

guateangel

I did! I had several weeks filed and it's just not going to work. I estimated how fast we would move and I estimated wrong. Some areas we are moving faster then anticipated and other areas slower. My dd decided to do a lot of art (dd is not artsy so this was a surprise and I was so excited) so we ended up going in a different direction for a few days and a lot of what I had filed was pushed back to later days. I can see us doing this often and I hadn't planned on it. I also learned real quick to use pencil in my planner instead of a pen. Oh well, hoping once I get the hang of things I can try it again. After all, this is my first year hs'n.

Ahhh, so much to learn...

I haven't ditched them, but it isn't going the way it's "supposed" to. We took 2 weeks to finish week 2 and will take 2 weeks to finish week 3. I'll still end up moving some things from week 4 up to week 3, and perhaps doing that every week (moving up from the following week) until we have a busy week. I don't mind it, though. It still lets me see how much we have to do. When DH goes back to school next week we won't be taking all these trips we've been taking and things will settle down, so we won't be spreading every week out. This still kept me honest, because I knew that even if I didn't finish it this week, I *needed* to finish what was in these folders, so I didn't slack nearly as much as I would have otherwise. Plus, it was nice having everything already printed out or copied and ready to go. :)

I can see where other people would hate having to move things between folders, though. If you don't need it to keep you honest or keep you organized, it's definitely a colossal waste of time.

We haven't ditched it completely....but it's not really working for us. We, too, are moving papers between folders and re-doing lesson plans. (Again and again. And again.)