Menu

Whipped cream topping without corn syrup???

klmama

we always do real whipped cream.  It's easy.  I use a hand mixer since I'm usually doing small quantities. (we only mix what we're going to use.)  just pour some in a pyrex measuring cup, or a small bowl, sprinkle some sugar - and mix.

you can make your own spray whipped cream.    just an example.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, gardenmom5 said:

actually that's how you make butter.

Well, yeah, it is. But...first it's whipped cream. If you continue whipping/shaking, it turns to butter.

Back in my waitressing days, I worked in a restaurant that made it's own whipped cream. We used a stand mixer. More than once, a waitress would start it, get distracted/busy, and come back to find butter. So we'd give that to the baker to use in desserts and start again, determined not to get distracted.

OP, I can't fathom why one wouldn't just whip their own if trying to avoid ingredients, especially if you have a hand mixer or stand mixer.

• Like 4

I never ate prebought whipped cream in my life until adulthood, and we had whipped cream about once a week with pancakes. Our parents just bought heavy cream and had us beat it with a rotary eggbeater - yes, by hand, no electricity! - with powdered sugar for several minutes, and then we got to lick the beaters.

Whipping your own cream is easy, and it does not take a very long time either.

• Like 2

If you need small quantities, let's say to top a pie that you will eat over the course of a week, Pampered Chef has a gadget that uses a plunger to whip cream right in the attached container,. You put a lid on that container and store it in the fridge as you use it. I thought it was the stupidest thing ever until I tried it. It keeps a day or two, and then I plunge/whip some more for that last slide of pie.

ETA: It takes under a minute to plunge whipped cream using the PC gadget.

Edited by plansrme
  • Like 1

5 hours ago, barnwife said: