Menu

I need some legal advice

math teacher

Please do not quote-I will delete later for privacy.

A little backstory: My mother in law is having an issue with her sister's estate that may ultimately affect dh and I. Mil's sister passed away  earlier this year. Husband was several years older, so assumption was that he would pass first. She handled investments and apparently the will (will kit-don't know how good those are.) Sister named MIL as a beneficiary to some stocks and Sister's husband now wants MIL to sign them over to him. MIL received a certified letter yesterday from his attorney that stated she had 10 business days to sign the paperwork, or a lawsuit would be brought and she would have to pay costs of upwards of $300 per hour in fees. This is in Arkansas. 

Does he really have a suit? Is this a gray area where the law will side with him, or is this a black and white case that MIL will retain these stocks? 

I'm not a lawyer, but we just made wills last year.  We used a lawyer, but it was mostly fill-in-the-blank so I could see how it could be done at home for people with simple plans like ours.  We've also just talked my in-laws through rewriting their wills.  For ours and theirs, they went something like 'In the event of my death, everything goes to spouse.  If spouse is dead, it then goes to (kids, grandkids, siblings) to be divided (evenly or in specified proportions)'.  So, even if the assumption is that husband would predecease SIL (as is the case for my in-laws, where FIL is older and has more health problems) I'd assume that the will is set up how she intended it to be because it's easy enough to list 'if they die then X is next in line' or 'Thing X goes to spouse and Thing Y goes to sibling'...and also because it would be a little strange to write a will assuming that people die in an expected order since car accidents and aneurisms and all sorts of unexpected things can happen.  

• Like 3