Menu

What do you do when your kids are failing math?

ivey_family

My 7th and 8th grade boys are doing AOPS Prealgebra this year, after finishing Beast Academy 5 last year. I’m keeping grades for the first time, and they are basically failing. The thing is, they are both more than capable of excelling in math, and they do understand the concepts.  They just keep getting enough homework and test questions wrong, that they are failing.  I’m frustrated, they’re discouraged, and I don’t know what to do!

Do I change programs because AOPS is insanely hard?  (I thought after Beast, it was a reasonable next step for kids who are good at math, but maybe the presentation is just too “lofty”??)

If we change, what is a good program to follow BA?

Do I change grading in some way to make it less discouraging?  (I was a school teacher and have graded kids before.  I award points for completed practice work, points for correct homework problems, and double points for correct test problems, divided by the total possible points.  Not too complicated.)

Do we restart the chapter?

Any help appreciated!

I would find out why they are getting more wrong than correct. Are the questions they are missing the review questions or the challenging questions? I already plan that if my son can do the review questions, but not the challenging questions to move forward. It is ok with me if he can’t do the challenging problems. 

You are correct in that AoPS prealgebra can be the next level after BA 5.

AoPS is insanely hard and I don’t think it’s for everyone. 

If they are not getting it, then I would switch programs. There are plenty of math programs that has prealgebra. Math USee, Mr. D, dereck Owens, teaching Textbooks, and Principals of mathematics to name a few. you may want to look into math mammoth too. Other programs such as Jousting Armadillos and Jacob’s may have prealgebra. I can’t remember if they have both prealgebra and algebra. 

anyhow, I hope that helps.