Menu

Grain Brain

Woodhaven

If you have read this, what do you think of it.  I am just beginning it and finding it interesting.

I haven't yet looked a the studies he keeps referencing, but mean to at some point.

My dh thinks it is just another "fad" diet and that he has something to sell.  What do you think?  Is this here to stay or just passing?

Edited to add: I have just reached the place where he advocates low carbs/high fat. 

He says he has cured all sorts of problems by having his patient go gluten free - from diagnoses such as migraines to involuntary body movements to mental illness.  Interesting.

I have this book, but haven't started reading it yet.  I went GF/more or less Paleo in July of this year. I do believe that fewer grains and lower carbs are very beneficial for my system. Whether or not that extends to everyone, it does seem to be true for me.

P.S. I came to my dietary concepts through Gary Taubes' books. I bought the book "Grain Brain," but don't know yet how much it has in common with Taubes. 

I have this book, but haven't started reading it yet.  I went GF/more or less Paleo in July of this year. I do believe that fewer grains and lower carbs are very beneficial for my system. Whether or not that extends to everyone, it does seem to be true for me.

P.S. I came to my dietary concepts through Gary Taubes' books. I bought the book "Grain Brain," but don't know yet how much it has in common with Taubes. 

I'm not familiar with Gary Taubes so I can't say what they have in common.  But Dr. Perlmutter says that gluten is bad for everyone.  He also states that what most people think of as "bad" cholesterol is not really bad.  The more you have the greater the decrease in mortality.  But he says that carbs are very, very bad for you and that they harm the cholesterol and it's function.