Menu

6-5-2yo... seasoned hs mom needs to rediscover JOY in life w/2d round of littles

Tardis Girl

I feel pathetic posting this, and am rarely on the K-8 boards because I've spent more time in the high school forum, but.... I could really use some encouragement. If anyone has some time to spare to read my dilemma and give me a hug and tell me it will be ok... and maybe throw some practical suggestions my way(!), I would be so grateful. :crying:

I've been homeschooling for 14 years, but am really struggling with being a joyful mother of LITTLE children right now. My littlest ones are 6, 5 (just turning), and 2. When my oldest ones were that age, I did all kinds of things with them -- nature walks, nature notebooks for fun, LOTS of read alouds, hands-on activities, and on and on. We were very CM (Charlotte Mason) in our style and worked on habits and everything, too. Maybe it's that I was 15 years younger then and had more energy? Or that I only had little ones and could keep my focus in the same general area?? But I am just tired and don't feel very joyful with "round 2" of little ones. I feel like I yell a lot and am cranky and not a very fun mom, either. We don't even read scriptures together consistently. And -- big surprise :glare: -- they aren't nearly as "good" as my older ones were at this age. (By good, I mean speaking kindly, thinking of others, grateful, etc.) I know it all comes back to me, my example, my lack of consistency, etc.

I know that they are little and I don't have to be all structured, etc. I know that. And the 6 and 5yo can both fluently read, so they have that going for them. But I feel like they are leagues behind where their older siblings were at this age -- and while I am definitely thinking of some academics (specifically history, elocution, math, nature, and art), the even bigger deal is the habits... or lack thereof.