Menu

Dilemmas of Food and in Consideration of the Other People Expecting to Eat as Well

Ginevra

So, help me think this through.

Compared to Joe Average American, we have a pretty good food culture in our family. DH grew up on a farm and the great majority of what he ate was homemade food. He grew up eating a wide variety of farm-fresh fruits and veggies, as well as had a cow and chickens, so fresh eggs and milk/dairy. And meat that was often raised or hunted/fished. (i grew up largely with Swanson frozen dinners and Chef Boyardee, so I mostly erradicated all that type of eating and gravitated towards ILs food culture from early on.)

So, we eat mostly homemade food and a lot of fresh veggies and fresh herbs. I have chickens, so fresh eggs. Sometimes we have caught fish or crabs. We have no source of homegrowndairy or meat sources anymore.

I have been moving towards lighter food for a couple of years now. I also have IBS and Lactose Intolerance, so I rarely make old favorites like Lasagna anymore. The family has been okay with this difference for the most part. But I also want to move further into lighter food, fewer high glycemic index foods, less fat and sugar. I generally already eat this way for breakfast and lunch, since those meals are usually not shared with others in the family. I am perfectly content to eat a vegan brocolli cauliflower soup for lunch or make smoothies for breakfast, although I also often eat eggs for breakfast because of the chickens. (And my belief that eggs are very nutritious.) But itĂ¢â‚¬â„¢s dinner that still causes some dilemmas for me.