Menu

I need to earn 7k. I need ideas please

caitlinsmom

I need to earn 7k within the next 2 months.

The bad:

I have very few items of value ( maybe a dresser and a box of books) that could be sold.

We only have old junker cars that aren't worth much.

I am 30 min from the nearest town with job prospects. Most pay about $7.50-$8

I have few marketable skills in this economy (I'm a librarian)

I am in a rural area (pop 400)

The good:

I can sew

I can type

er...I'm sure there is more but I cant think of them right now.

I need ideas to earn the cash and I'm thinking my best bet may be the internet? I tried selling skirts that I make on a special deal site but I didn't sell one (my friend sells 250 a week. grr)

What can I do?

Are you any good at writing or proofreading?

You could try freelancing in those fields.

Maybe sew things and sell them through Etsy?

Is there a need that people have that you think you can solve for them? You can start a business with nothing down, if you have the time and are willing and able to put in the effort.

Is this something you can take a loan for, or more like repaying a debt where you need cash in hand?

Can you tutor online over Skype?

There are some online ways to make money with transcription and such, but they pay usually pay minimum wage at best.

Edited to add:

Is sewing going to earn you more than minimum wage? I don't know what you're planning on sewing, but you have to price things pretty high to make reasonable pay per hour after paying for materials.

Is there anything further away than 30 minutes that would pay better, or is that it for your area? Gas is expensive too though.

Are you any good at writing or proofreading?

You could try freelancing in those fields.

Maybe sew things and sell them through Etsy?

Is there a need that people have that you think you can solve for them? You can start a business with nothing down, if you have the time and are willing and able to put in the effort.