Menu

Does your spouse support hsing?

My DH was not at all keen about the idea of hsing. :glare: I did it anyway. :sneaky2:

He is much better about it now, but not very involved. How do you get him more involved? I try to tell him about our day, show him their work, shame him about acting like he doesn't care. :glare: He changed jobs and works out of state all week. We would have had to take them out anyway. I love telling him I told you so...:lol: He' s a great Dad. I just would like more input from him on how things are progressing. He told me it would be my fault if we raised a bunch of dummies :001_tt2:. He said he was joking, the stinker.

My DH is totally supportive of hs'ing. I was a ps teacher before and he heard enough stories when I came home before we had kids, that it didn't take a lot of convincing when I decided I wanted to homeschool. We discuss school at dinner every night, just like we would if DD was in public school. DD is responsible for telling him what she did in each subject and he asks her questions about each one - how'd you build that, what was the hardest part, etc.

He also does all the science experiments with DD. Not because I don't want to do them or don't feel competent to do them, but because we both wanted him to be more involved and that was something easy he could take over since there's 1 experiment/week.

Now, he knows NOTHING about curricula. He can't tell you the name of the science program he and DD do experiments from. I doubt he could tell you the name of any textbook we're using for anything. And that's OK with me. He trusts me to pick what's best for our kids and sifting through it all for him would be like me trying to read the programming language he codes in without a background in it. But he can tell you what DD is learning at any given moment.

DH tells me all the time how thankful he is that I'm homeschooling. To get your DH to do that...I'd get him around a bunch of ps kids. ;)