Menu

New to line drying. How?

Miss Peregrine

I do, if things are in the sun, and hang shirts upside-down so they don't stretch.

We line-dried almost everything we washed when we visited Israel for the summer last year!

We found we could use the dryer (had thought it off limits, but really, they just wanted to keep costs down), so we ended up line drying to the point of almost-dry, then tumbling for 5-10 minutes. Good combo for us, as it softened towels and de-wrinkled.

I have three racks that I've been using for 10 years. I need one rack for a small washer, two for an average one, and three for a large washer. I've never worried about turning things inside out, but I usually don't dry in direct sunlight. If you're in a damp, cold climate, a fan helps a lot to make sure the clothes dry. If you're short on space on the rack, try hanging shirts on hangers and hanging the hangers on the racks. Racks are nice because you can easily move the clothes inside if it starts to rain and they fit almost anywhere. I've also noticed that they're often less offensive to people who think clothes lines are tacky.

Like Chris mentioned, your clothes and towels will be crunchy. It doesn't bother us, but other people hate it. It helps to hang them on a windy day, but you can't exactly control the weather. :)

We use two dryer racks on any given day.  The dryer racks are in DH and my bedroom (not really too much sunlight).  We live in an apartment and even though we have a balcony, line drying is frowned upon.  I just remind the kids that when they lay things out, the fewer bumps the faster the clothes will dry.  We don't hang shirts or pants on the dryer racks.  Those we put on hangers and hang in the proper person's closet (with space between the hangers).  The jeans will still dry in a day or two even in a dark closet.  Even in a dark closet the clothes dry very nicely.