Menu

Fafsa - did anyone here not get any money?

clementine

I just filled out the Fafsa information - using the estimator, since we haven't filed our taxes yet.  

I am thinking it might just be a waste of my time & added paperwork (even though it's online)  :tongue_smilie:

Did anybody here fill it out & not receive a dime?  I didn't really want to fill it out, but everything I've read said 'Do it...you'd be surprised.'

Well, the offers come directly from the college's financial aid office after reviewing your FAFSA, not from FAFSA directly unless I'm misunderstanding your post.  Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but can you even get federal student loans if you don't fill out FAFSA?  I think it makes you ineligible to be considered for quite a lot.

I'm new to this, ha!  Thank you for your reply :)  I think I meant - not getting any aid after filling out the Fafsa?  I don't really even fully understand the whole process....I should really dig deeper, but I thought there was a bit of a time crunch.  I should have just waited until I was more comfortable with the whole thing.  Ahhhh.....it's Friday & I need a break!  Thank you for reading......

We likely won't. But all of the colleges C applied to require that FASFA is filled out, and campus jobs, federal student loans, and even some scholarships will be withheld if it is not done on time. So, we put the information in and submit even though we are in that no man's land of too much income to qualify for grants and such, not enough income to write mega thousands of dollars of checks for the boys, and a 529 that tanked during the mortgage scandal/stock slump and never recovered very well.