Menu

:confused:Can someone fill me in on the 'politics ban?' I'm new around here, have been away from my computer for 5 days, and tonight I find several potentially interesting threads that seem somewhat 'stunted' for fears of violating The Ban.

Am I violating the ban by asking about it? How bad did things get? How bad CAN they get on an internet message board where adult participants can just skip what they don't wish to read? Or ignore those participants who post disrespectfully?

I just find it surprising on The Well-Trained Mind forum...I thought the book was (at least to some extent) about critical thinking.

What is the goal of the ban? Have bans like this 'worked' in the past? I find this interesting and a bit bizarre. But, then, like I said, I'm new to this sort of thing.

msjones

• Replies 225
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

:confused:Ca I find this interesting and a bit bizarre. But, then, like I said, I'm new to this sort of thing.

msjones

Strap yourself into the observation pit and prepare for takeoff. You've got a front row view. It's less expensive than cable or pay-per-view. :)

:confused:Can someone fill me in on the 'politics ban?' I'm new around here, have been away from my computer for 5 days, and tonight I find several potentially interesting threads that seem somewhat 'stunted' for fears of violating The Ban.

Am I violating the ban by asking about it? How bad did things get? How bad CAN they get on an internet message board where adult participants can just skip what they don't wish to read? Or ignore those participants who post disrespectfully?

I just find it surprising on The Well-Trained Mind forum...I thought the book was (at least to some extent) about critical thinking.

What is the goal of the ban? Have bans like this 'worked' in the past? I find this interesting and a bit bizarre. But, then, like I said, I'm new to this sort of thing.

msjones