Menu

Seeking Advice from Parents with Adult Children

Hello, thanks for your help in advance!!

I am just beginning a homeschool journey with my daughters, 6&4.  We love our learning!  But I frequently feel paranoid about their future given this brave choice of homeschooling!

1.  What field do your children work in and are they enjoying themselves?

2.  Did you follow WTM strictly?  Did you include other approaches?  Did you feel that the high school years were an enormous amount of work?  Did you work hard to get ahead?

3.  Are you pleased, looking back, with the experience your kids had, including friendships?

Any tips, wisdom, perspective you could share with me would be very much appreciated!!

No adult kids yet but I have friends with adult kids that are still homeschooling littler ones as well.  They ALL have said that one thing they wish they had done more of with the oldest ones was spend quality time working on character and relationships and lots and lots of reading and learning life skills and cuddling and appreciating them for who they are RIGHT AT THAT MOMENT.  :)  They were so busy worrying about getting them into Calculus in 11th grade or whatever that they failed to appreciate the small child in front of them and cherish childhood.  

One in particular said she now still works on academics from pretty early on but not so much in a clerical, sit at this desk and work on memorizing this and that and killing the love of learning type of learning but more a work on basic skills such as reading/writing/math in small doses each day but focus more on pursuing content knowledge in a more dynamic, organic way.  Promote the CHILD'S connections to an ability and desire to learn and find value in working hard to learn something that matters to them, not just spoon feed knowledge to pass tests.

Good luck and best wishes.

• Like 4

My boys are in their late 20s and did much of their homeschooling before TWTM was written.