Menu

When camping goes wrong...

swimmermom3

Dh and I have camped for over 30 years and have experienced maybe two bad experiences with other campers in all of that time. Unfortunately, last night was one of those experiences. I have been running through the scenario in my head, wondering what we should have done differently, if we are too picky, etc.

Our favorite campground was full, so ds found another one in the same general area. It did not have a camp host and the services were port-a-potties and garbage. We car camp and are comfortable walking gear in.

There was a group next to us that occupied two sites. The guys had voices that carried beautifully and we decided that if we took a drink of wine for every time the gentleman we termed "Motherf-----" said the same, we would deplete our wine supplies in an hour.  "Gunter's Owner" spent much of his time bellowing for the dog who was not on a leash and was visiting other camp sites. We got to hear about the time "Potty Boy" messed his pants out camping and left the bag of clothes in his car for two days. I'll leave out the more graphic details, but I believe a flashlight was involved in messing his pants.

The party ramped up and we slept through the first of it.  I don't ask for quiet even after quiet hours if a group is managing to keep it somewhat in check. I get wanting to go out with your friends and have fun. Many campers manage to do it just fine. The clincher was pulling out the stereo or whatever at midnight and blaring Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" and 15 or so people drunkenly trying to sing along with Freddy Mercury. <<<shudder>>>