Menu

Please help me work through this. I am beyond confused...

DB in NJ

My sweet hubby is a sheet metal worker by trade. The work is ridiculously spotty. In 25 years of marriage, work has NEVER been a steady, stable thing.

I am so very tired of the instability and the uncertainty. A nice, steady pay check would be a dream come true.

Have you or your husband made a career change at this age? DH is an ordained pastor, but he does not have a degree. He was ordained at our church after sitting for an ordination council of pastors and missionaries (all of whom have masters and/or doctorates). Just saying all of that so you don't think he is a mail-order pastor ;) He is more than halfway to his bachelor's degree, but with work being like it is, there is no way we can afford to keep sending him to school. When he's working, he doesn't have time for school; when he isn't working, we don't have the money. 

We own a home worth over $300,000. We owe just over $80,000 on the mortgage. Taxes are obscene (about $10,000 a year). We would like to sell the house and get something smaller, but all 3 kids still live at home. Oldest ds is working in West Virginia until election day, and then he'll be home and unemployed again. Also, if we were to sell this house, we could buy something outright where the taxes are lower and have no mortgage, but what does that do for your credit? Is anyone familiar with such a situation? I have friends who haven't had a mortgage in over 10 years, and they can't get a loan for their kids for school or for a car.

The union kind of owns you -- if you aren't familiar with how it works. It would cost us money to leave it, and we would be foolish to leave this area unless it were to transfer to another local. With the economy and construction being as they are, no locals are taking transfers. We cannot just walk away from the benefits.