Menu

Despondent (Probably Just a Vent)

If someone you knew who was quite close to your family, and whose company you might otherwise quite enjoy, took the view that your homeschooling was a totally unnecessary indulgence on your part, and damaging to your children, how would you deal with it?

Most people think our homeschool is wonderful, and DH often tells people that the boys have a better education than any amount of money could buy, but the opinion of this one person really gnaws away at my peace of mind. I can avoid the person in question, and on the rare occasions when I might see them it's relatively easy to avoid the topic of homeschooling. But it makes me feel cross, frustrated and disheartened on a daily basis.

Maybe I should just try to stop thinking about it, but I'm not very good at denial :sad:. Part of me wants to convince them that their idealised view of schools and their distorted impressions of homeschooling are just not the reality. I know I can't control what someone else thinks. I guess I just have a strong need for approval.

I think this may have just turned into a vent, as I'm not sure what I'm asking anymore :001_unsure:.

i don't do things for other people - so I wouldn't give a hoot about their opinion.

(I was reared to think my grandmother's opinion was the cat's meow - and I made many choices I felt were right that ticked her off. years later, I know my chioces were right.)

i don't do things for other people - so I wouldn't give a hoot about their opinion.

(I was reared to think my grandmother's opinion was the cat's meow - and I made many choices I felt were right that ticked her off. years later, I know my chioces were right.)

Thank you, that's very reassuring :001_smile:. I'm fairly sure I'll feel the same sometime in the future, it's just a bit unsettling at the moment.