Menu

Whole-food vegetarian - too much fibre for me?

Laura Corin

I've been eating pretty whole-food for years, but for the last six months have been enjoying replacing any remaining sugars and white flour with whole options. I also now eat very little meat. I don't eat much dairy or eggs.

A typical day might be oats with ground flax seed for breakfast, lentil and veg soup or salad for lunch, quinoa and veg for supper. Snacks would be raw veg and nuts. I drink oat milk for preference. I want to maintain muscle mass as I age, so I need to keep my protein up.

I get constipated. I'm probably eating 40 to 50 grammes of fibre a day, and drink about 3.5 or 4 litres of liquid. My last health check up had me finally in healthy ranges. Any ideas?

Edited by Laura Corin
  • Like 1

7 minutes ago, Rosie_0801 said:

I was coming into the thread to suggest more water, but if you're drinking that much, I'd guess it's too much fibre. Oats + flax seeds for breakfast sounds enough to knock your digestive system out cold!

I don't want to drop the oats, because I have finally lowered my cholesterol, but I can leave out the flax, as I still eat fish. Thanks.

Edited by Laura Corin
  • Like 1

You can definitely try cutting out the flaxseed, but I might also ask - how much exercise are you getting? When you move your body, it helps you to move your bowels. (It also helps you maintain muscle mass.) With a healthy diet like that I assume you're also exercising daily, but I might be wrong.

• Like 3

24 minutes ago, Tanaqui said:

You can definitely try cutting out the flaxseed, but I might also ask - how much exercise are you getting? When you move your body, it helps you to move your bowels. (It also helps you maintain muscle mass.) With a healthy diet like that I assume you're also exercising daily, but I might be wrong.