Menu

Brownie Help

AmandaVT

I need help - I can't make brownies. I'm a good cook and baker, generally. I can make yeast breads, homemade pizza dough, cookies of all kinds, pie crust, homemade ice cream, risotto, quick breads, etc. But I can't make brownies, either homemade or box. 

Here's what happens:

I make the batter, it looks and tastes delicious. I wait until the oven is pre-heated, follow all instructions and as the brownies are cooking, it looks like small volcanoes of oil/butter are erupting all over the brownie pan. Hundreds of tiny volcanoes. Then, they never set up properly and remain gooey (uncooked looking) on the inside while turning too hard on the edges. 

Anyone have any idea what on earth is happening? My oven has no problem cooking anything else. At Thanksgiving, I made 2 pies with homemade crusts and homemade dinner rolls and they cooked nicely. Tonight, I made brownies from a box and they are inedible. 

Help!!

I'm sure you know this (it's on the back of the brownie mix box) but are you using dark metal pans for brownies (and glass or light pans for pies/rolls)? Darker pans require a lower temp. Are your brownie pans thinner than usual? I believe aluminum is recommended for even heating.

Are you at high altitude?

• Like 1

That's really weird.  I always thought brownies from a mix were kind of guaranteed.

What about your pan size?  Are you using a small square pan? That would make the brownies thicker and perhaps give rise to this.  If so, go for a rectangular pan.  You could also try baking the brownie mix in a cupcake tin.

Are you mixing the batter for the full two minutes or whatever the box says?

Are you using the right oven temperature for your pan?

For a scratch brownie recipe, I really like the "Best Brownies" recipe on AllRecipes.

• Like 2